Skip to Content

The Northeast

The Middle Atlantic states together with New England to its north make up the region commonly referred to as the Northeast. This includes the states of Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine, as well as the national capital of Washington in the District of Columbia.

Topographically, these Northeastern states are natural woodlands. The interior of the region is characterized by the northern stretch of the Appalachian mountains, which run roughly parallel to the Atlantic coast. Despite urbanization, industrialization, and the existence of vast transportation systems, the Northeast offers extensive areas of great natural beauty, both along its coastline and in its interior.

The Northeast encompasses the area known as the Megalopolis, the heavily populated industrial corridor along the Atlantic coast stretching from Washington, DC, through Baltimore, Philadelphia, and New York City, north to Boston.

Next Section:Long Island

Land, History and Language: Chapter Home

Life in the USA Home Page.