Skip to Content

Movie Ratings

Movies are Rated
The Motion Picture Association of America runs a system of ratings for movies according to their suitability (sex and violence content) for certain viewers. Five major classifications exist.

  • A movie rated “G” (for General Audiences) can be seen by viewers of all ages. This is real “family” entertainment.
  • A “PG” rating means anyone can be admitted, but parental guidance is suggested because some of the material may not be suitable for very young children.
  • PG-13” is a somewhat stronger warning indicating that some of the material may not be suitable for children below the age of thirteen.
  • An “R” rating indicates some nudity or suggested sex; children under 17 can see the movie only if accompanied by an adult.
  • An “NC-17” rating means that no one 17 and under will be admitted, even if accompanied by an adult. It replaced the previous “X” rating; the term “X-rated” is still used colloquially to indicate a film that shows explicitly sexuality.

“NR” indicates a film has not been rated. The rating system is not a law, but a voluntary system of controls.

Next Section:Movies on Video

American Culture: Chapter Home

Life in the USA Home Page.